Quantcast

Brace yourself: Southern rail workers announce plans for 14 days of strikes

0

More travel chaos for commuters

Southern rail workers will strike for 14 days in five separate chunks beginning next month amid a dispute over conductors. from next month in the long-running dispute over the role of conductors.

Here are the strike days:

  • Tuesday 11 October and Thursday 13 October
  • Tuesday 18 October and Thursday 20 October
  • Thursday 3 November and Saturday 5 November
  • Tuesday 22 November and Wednesday 23 November
  • Tuesday 6 December and Thursday 8 December

Mick Cash, RMT’s general secretary, said: “Govia Thameslink and the government have made it clear that they have no interest in resolving this dispute. Instead they have begun the process of bulldozing through the drive towards wholesale driver-only operation (DOO) without agreement and without any concern for the impact on safety, security and disability access.

“Last week there was a train derailment near Watford that involved two trains. The guards on both trains played a vital role in protecting the passengers and the trains in what were extremely frightening circumstances. If the train had been DOO and without a guard the consequences would have been far worse.”




Share.