Cursed Brexit? These MPs have submitted no-confidence letters so far


With every MP confirming sending the letter of no confidence against Theresa May over her draft Brexit agreement, the threat of a no-confidence vote grows.

As of today, at least 20 MPs have submitted letters to Sir Graham Brady, chair of the influential backbench 1922 Committee. There may be others who may have sent the letters but have not declared it publicly.

Forty-eight Tory MPs need to write to the chair to trigger a confidence vote, which would happen within a day or two of being announced. May would need the backing of 158 MPs to keep her job.

Here are the ones we know:

  1. Jacob Rees-Mogg
  2. Steve Baker
  3. Henry Smith
  4. Simon Clarke
  5. Peter Bone
  6. Philip Davies
  7. Nadine Dorries
  8. Andrew Bridgen
  9. Adam Holloway
  10. Martin Vickers
  11. James Duddridge
  12. Laurence Robertson
  13. Lee Rowley
  14. Maria Caulfield
  15. Sheryll Murray
  16. Anne Marie Morris
  17. Andrea Jenkyns
  18. John Whittingdale
  19. Ben Bradley
  20. Mark Francois

Sources close to Boris Johnson have yet not shared if he has submitted a letter. Meanwhile, former Brexit secretary David Davis has declared he will not be writing in.