Home Business NewsPolitics News Revealed: This is how London voted in the General Election

Revealed: This is how London voted in the General Election

9th Jun 17 11:36 am

Here’s the latest

Labour has performed strongly in London taking major gains in marginal seats in Battersea and Croydon Central unseating two Conservative ministers in the process.

Dubbed as a strong anti-Brexit message, in a capital that voted resoundingly to remain in the EU, Labour also fought off the Conservatives in constituencies they feared could be lost.

There is still one constituency left to declare in the capital. A third recount will take place later today in Kensington as there are ‘some discrepancy’ in the numbers and with Labour are on the verge of taking the seat that they haven’t held since 1974 there is no margin for error.

  • Labour Gains: Battersea, Croydon Central and Enfield Southgate
  • Liberal Democrat Gains: Twickenham and Kingston and Surbiton
  • Conservative Gains: Richmond Park

Jeremy Corbyn unsurprisingly held his seat in Islington North, but significantly it had the highest turnout since 1951.

In his winning speech, he said: “The prime minister called the election because she wanted a mandate. Well the mandate she’s got is lost Conservative seats, lost votes, lost support and lost confidence.”

In Battersea, Labour’s Marsha de Cordova, a disability rights campaigner, overturned an 8,000 Conservative majority and ousted financial secretary, Jane Ellison ending her seven-year parliamentary career.

Speaking after the loss of Ellison, and concerns over James Wharton in Stockton South, George Osborne said: “These are not people we should be losing from Parliament, and there will be a very big post-mortem coming.”

In Croydon, central Conservative housing minister Gavin Barwell lost his majority of just 165 to Labour’s Sarah Jones who won with a majority of 6,653.

Elsewhere other big Labour victories were seen in ‘swing seat’ Brentford and Isleworth with an increased majority of more than 12,000 and in Tooting, where MP Dr Rosena Allin-Khan doubled her majority to 15,000 in London mayor Sadiq Khan old seat.

He said: “Huge congratulations to my friend @DrRosena and her hard-working team. Incredible result here in Tooting.”

After a nail biting recount the only Conservative gain in London was in Richmond Park where Zac Goldsmith took back his seat from Liberal Democrat, Sarah Olney by only 45 votes having resigned last year in protest over the decision to expand Heathrow Airport.

Goldsmth won 28,588 votes compared to 28,543 received byhis opponent Ms Olney on a turnout of 79 per cent.

Liberal Democrat’s Sir Vince Cable also convincingly reclaimed his seat in Twickenham from the Conservatives after his shock defeat in 2015 with a majority of 9762.

Source from ITV:

·        Barking – LAB HOLD

·        Battersea – LAB GAIN

·        Beckenham – CON HOLD

·        Bermondsey and Old Southwark – LAB HOLD

·        Bethnal Green and Bow – LAB HOLD

·        Bexleyheath and Crayford – CON HOLD

·        Brent Central – LAB HOLD

·        Brent North – LAB HOLD

·        Brentford and Isleworth – LAB HOLD

·        Bromley and Chislehurst – CON HOLD

·        Camberwell and Peckham – LAB HOLD

·        Carshalton and Wallington – LD HOLD

·        Chelsea and Fulham – CON HOLD

·        Chingford and Woodford Green – CON HOLD

·        Chipping Barnet – CON HOLD

·        Cities of London and Westminster – CON HOLD

·        Croydon Central – LAB GAIN

·        Croydon North – LAB HOLD

·        Croydon South – CON HOLD

·        Dagenham and Rainham – LAB HOLD

·        Dulwich and West Norwood – LAB HOLD

·        Ealing Central and Acton – LAB HOLD

·        Ealing North – LAB HOLD

·        Ealing Southall – LAB HOLD

·        East Ham – LAB HOLD

·        Edmonton – LAB HOLD

·        Eltham – LAB HOLD

·        Enfield North – LAB HOLD

·        Enfield Southgate – LAB GAIN

·        Erith Thamesmead – LAB HOLD

·        Feltham and Heston – LAB HOLD

·        Finchley and Golders Green – CON HOLD

·        Greenwich and Woolwich – LAB HOLD

·        Hackney North and Stoke Newington – LAB HOLD

·        Hackney South and Shoreditch – LAB HOLD

·        Hammersmith – LAB HOLD

·        Hampstead and Kilburn – LAB HOLD

·        Harrow East – CON HOLD

·        Harrow West – LAB HOLD

·        Hayes and Harlington – LAB HOLD

·        Hendon – CON HOLD

·        Holborn and St Pancras – LAB HOLD

·        Hornchurch and Upminster – CON HOLD

·        Hornsey and Wood Green – LAB HOLD

·        Ilford North – LAB HOLD

·        Ilford South – LAB HOLD

·        Islington North – LAB HOLD

·        Islington South and Finsbury – LAB HOLD

·        Kensington – YET TO DECLARE

·        Kingston and Surbiton – LD GAIN

·        Lewisham East – LAB HOLD

·        Lewisham West and Penge – LAB HOLD

·        Lewisham Deptford – LAB HOLD

·        Leyton and Wanstead – LAB HOLD

·        Mitcham and Morden – LAB HOLD

·        Old Bexley and Sidcup – CON HOLD

·        Orpington – CON HOLD

·        Poplar and Limehouse – LAB HOLD

·        Putney – CON HOLD

·        Richmond Park – CON GAIN

·        Romford – CON HOLD

·        Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner – CON HOLD

·        Streatham – LAB HOLD

·        Surrey Heath – CON HOLD

·        Sutton and Cheam – CON HOLD

·        Tooting – LAB HOLD

·        Tottenham – LAB HOLD

·        Twickenham – LD GAIN

·        Uxbridge and South Ruislip – CON HOLD

·        Vauxhall – LAB HOLD

·        Walthamstow – LAB HOLD

·        West Ham – LAB HOLD

·        Westminster North – LAB HOLD

·        Wimbledon – CON HOLD

Leave a Comment


Sign up to our daily news alerts

[ms-form id=1]