Home Business News Tory leadership contest key dates explained

Tory leadership contest key dates explained

by LLB Reporter
11th Jun 19 1:22 pm

There are ten candidates for the Conservative leadership contest who are all fighting for the top job of prime minister in later July.

Here is the leadership campaign timetable:

Thursday 13 June will hold the first ballot, any contenders who receive 16 or less votes are out of the race, with the results expected to be announced at 1pm.

On Sunday 16 June Krishnan Guru-Murphy, who is a Channel 4 TV presenter is to host a debate with the remaining contenders.

Monday 17 June There will be another round of hustings in front of Tory MP remaining contenders.

On Tuesday 18 June there will be a second ballot meaning that any Tory candidate that receives 32 or less votes will be eliminated from the leadership contest. The results will be announced at 1pm.

BBC One will be hosting a debate with TV presenter Emily Maitlis entitled, ‘Our Next Prime Minister’ at 8pm on the evening of 18 June.

On Wednesday 19 June a third ballot will take place, again the Tory candidate with the least number of votes will be out of the race, with the results being announced at 6pm.

Thursday 20 June will hold the fourth and fifth ballots that will continue to keep going until the final two candidates are standing. The results will be announced at 1pm and then 6pm.

On Saturday 22 June the last two candidates for the leadership race will begin their membership hustings for party members across 12 regions throughout the UK.

On the week commencing 22 July a new Conservative leader will be announced after a ballot of around 160,000 Tory Party members.

After a new Tory leader is chosen Theresa May will then see Her Majesty the Queen to formally resign. The new prime minister will then be invited to visit the Queen at Buckingham Palace.

It is expected the new leader could, possibly form a new government within hours.

Leave a Comment

You may also like


Sign up to our daily news alerts

[ms-form id=1]