Home Business News 11 areas placed into strict Tier 4 lockdown across Scotland

11 areas placed into strict Tier 4 lockdown across Scotland

by Mark Fitt Political Journalist
17th Nov 20 3:21 pm

Scotland’s First Minister Nicola Sturgeon said on Tuesday that 11 areas in Scotland will be placed on the strictest restrictions from 6pm on Friday.

The First Minister said that the restrictions will be in place for three weeks until 11 December.

The affected areas are the City of Glasgow, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, Stirling and West Lothian.

Sturgeon said that “in all of these areas, there are grounds for continued and significant concern.”

The Scottish First Minister said that East Lothian and Midlothian are to move into level 2 as they have seen a “marked decline” in the prevalence of coronavirus.

Sturgeon added, “On that basis, assuming no significant deterioration before then, I can confirm that East Lothian and Midlothian will move from Level 3 to Level 2 from next Tuesday 24 November.

“Between now and then, the local authorities will be able to undertake necessary environmental health and compliance checks, and work with NHS Lothian to minimise any risk of increased transmission that the move to Level 2 will bring.”

Leave a Comment

You may also like


Sign up to our daily news alerts

[ms-form id=1]